Science Fiction

!

Jay Armory, The Clouded World

Gollancz, 2008. 1st edition. Paperback. Contains part 3 and 4 of The Clouded World. In the air cities, where the Airborn live, civil war threatens.*

Kevin J. Anderson, Hidden Empire

The Saga of the Seven Suns, book 1
Earthlight, 2002. "Mankinds finds a device to transform gas giants into new suns. But are we wise enough to wield the power of the gods?" 1st edition. Paperback.

Kevin J. Anderson, Captain Nemo

Pocket Books, 2002. Further adventures of the character invented by Jules Verne. 1st edition. Hardback.

Poul Anderson, For Love and Glory

Tor, 2003. "Two archeologists discover on a planet an important artefact." 1st edition. Hardback.

Poul Anderson, The Enemy Stars

Coronet, 1979. 3rd printing. Paperback. A spaceship gets cought in the gravity of a dead star. Antiquarian: very good condition.

Neal Asher, The Skinner

Uncorrected book proof
Macmillan, 2002. "One of the most brutal of the alien Prador is about to pay the planet Spatterjay a surreptitious visit and major hell is about to errupt." Paperback.

Iain M. Banks, Surface Detail

Orbit, 2010. 1st edition. Paperback.

It begins in the realm of the Real, where matter still matters. It begins with a murder. And it will not end until the Culture has gone to war with death itself. Lededje Y'breq is one of the Intagliated, her marked body bearing witness to a family shame, her life belonging to a man whose lust for power is without limit. Prepared to risk everything for her freedom, her release, when it comes, is at a price, and to put things right she will need the help of the Culture. Benevolent, enlightened and almost infinitely resourceful though it may be, the Culture can only do so much for any individual. With the assistance of one of its most powerful - and arguably deranged - warships, Lededje finds herself heading into a combat zone not even sure which side the Culture is really on. A war - brutal, far-reaching - is already raging within the digital realms that store the souls of the dead, and it's about to erupt into reality. It started in the realm of the Real and that is where it will end. It will touch countless lives and affect entire civilizations, but at the centre of it all is a young woman whose need for revenge masks another motive altogether. *

Iain M. Banks, The Hydrogen Sonata

Orbit, 2012. Paperback.

The Scavenger species are circling. It is, truly, the End Days for the Gzilt civilization.

An ancient people, organized on military principles and yet almost perversely peaceful, the Gzilt helped set up the Culture ten thousand years earlier and were very nearly one of its founding societies, deciding not to join only at the last moment. Now they've made the collective decision to follow the well-trodden path of millions of other civilizations; they are going to Sublime, elevating themselves to a new and almost infinitely more rich and complex existence.

Amid preparations though, the Regimental High Command is destroyed. Lieutenant Commander (reserve) Vyr Cossont appears to have been involved, and she is now wanted - dead, not alive. Aided only by an ancient, reconditioned android and a suspicious Culture avatar, Cossont must complete her last mission given to her by the High Command. She must find the oldest person in the Culture, a man over nine thousand years old, who might have some idea what really happened all that time ago. It seems that the final days of the Gzilt civilization are likely to prove its most perilous.*

Max Barry, Jennifer Government

Advance reading copy
Doubleday, 2003. "In the near future the world is run by giant American corporations". Paperback.

Max Barry, Lexicon

Mulholland, 2013. 1st edition. Paperback.

Two years ago, something terrible was unleashed in an Australian mining town called Broken Hill. Thousands died. 

Few people know what really happened.

Emily Ruff is one of them. She belongs to an elite organisation of 'poets': masters of manipulation who use language to warp others to their will. She was one of their most promising recruits until she made a catastrophic mistake: she fell in love.*

Max Barry, Providence

Putnam, 2020. 1st edition. Hardback.

From the award-winning author of Lexicon comes a mind-bending science fiction masterpiece in the tradition of The Martian and Arrival.

She is the ultimate weapon. She once served us. Now she's got her own plans.

Once we approached the aliens in peace...and they annihilated us. Now mankind has developed the ultimate killing machine, the Providence class of spaceship. 

With the ships' frightening speed, frightening intelligence and frightening weaponry, it's now the salamanders' turn to be annihilated...in their millions. 

The mismatched quartet of Talia, Gilly, Jolene and Anders are the crew on one of these destroyers. But with the ship's computers designed to outperform human decision-making in practically all areas, they are virtual bystanders. The Providence will take them to where the enemy are and she will dictate the strategy in any battle.

The crew's only job role is to publicise their glorious war to a sceptical Earth. Social media and video clips are their weapons in an endless charm offensive. Their chief enemy is not the space reptiles but each other and boredom. 

But then everything changes. A message comes from base: the Providence is going into the Violet Zone, where there are no beacons and no communications with Earth. It is the heart of the enemy empire - and now the crew are left to wonder whether this is a mission of ultimate destruction or, more sinisterly, of ultimate self-destruction....*

Stephen Baxter, Resplendent

Destiny's Children 4
Gollancz, 2006. 1st edition. Paperback. Collection of short stories, all dealing with the everlasting battle with the Xeelee.

Greg Bear, Darwin's Radio

HarperCollins, 1999. The battle against a deadly virus. 1st edition. Hardback. Antiquarian: fine condition.

Greg Bear, Queen of Angels

Gollancz, 1990. 1st edition. Hardback. Antiquarian: very good condition.

"set in 2047, it explores a world of highly advanced, cybernetically enhanced personalities"*

Gregory Benford, Beyond Infinity

Warner Books, 2004. "Billions of years from now, the last true human must find her place -and her destiny- within the inconceivable vastness of multiple universes." 1st edition. Hardback.

Alfred Bester, The Stars My Destination

Gollancz, 2010. Paperback. With an afterword by Neil Gaiman. Antiquarian: very good condition.

Gully Foyle, Mechanic's Mate 3rd Class. EDUCATION: none SKILLS: none MERITS: none RECOMMENDATIONS: none That's the official verdict on Gully Foyle, unskilled space crewman. But right now he is the only survivor on his drifting, wrecked spaceship, and when another space vessel - the Vorga - ignores his distress flares and sails by, Gully becomes obsessed with revenge. He endures 170 days alone in deep space before finding refuge on the Sargasso Asteroid and returning to Earth to track down the crew and owners of the Vorga. But, as he works out his murderous grudge, Gully Foyle also uncovers a secret of momentous proportions ... *

Ben Bova, Kinsman

Futura, 1981. Paperback. An astronaut discovers that there is murder in space as well. Antiquarian: fine condition.

Ray Bradbury Chronicles 2

Signed
NBM, 1992. Six short stories turned into comics. Signed by Ray Bradbury and the illustrators. 1st edition. Hardback.

John Brunner, Stand on Zanzibar

Gollancz, 2014. 1st edition thus. Paperback.

There are seven billion-plus humans crowding the surface of 21st-century Earth. It is an age of intelligent computers, mass-market psychedelic drugs, politics conducted by assassination, scientists who burn incense to appease volcanoes ... all the hysteria of a dangerously overcrowded world, portrayed in a dazzlingly inventive style.

Moving, sensory, impressionistic, as jagged as the times it portrays, this book is a real mind stretcher - and yet beautifully orchestrated to give a vivid picture of the whole.*

Algis Budrys, Who?

Penguin SF, 1964. 1st edition as paperback. Shawn Rogers, allied security chief, is to find out if the man behind the iron mask is the lost scientist or a Soviet plant. Antiquarian: very good condition.

Kenneth Calhoun, Black Moon

Hogarth, 2014. 1st edition. Paperback. Antiquarian: fine condition.

The world has stopped sleeping. Restless nights have grown into days of panic, delirium and, eventually, desperation. But few and far between, sleepers can still be found - a gift they quickly learn to hide. For those still with the ability to dream are about to enter a waking nightmare.*

Orson Scott Card, Shadow of the Giant

Tor, 2005. The follow-up of Ender's Shadow. 1st edition. Hardback.

Orson Scott Card (ed.), Future on Ice

Tor, 1998. Collection of short stories by various authors. 1st edition. Hardback. Antiquarian: fine condition.

Orson Scott Card, The Memory of Earth

Homecoming, volume 1

Tor, 1992. 1st edition. Hardback. Antiquarian: fine condition.*

Malfunctioning due to its own failing system, the Oversaul, an artificial intelligence caring for the colonists on the planet Harmony, could bring about catastrophic war on the planet unless someone repairs it.

John Christopher, The Death of Grass

Penguin Modern Classics, 2009. Paperback. With an introduction by Robert Macfarlane. The classic book from 1956 in which a virus causes a world-wide famine. Antiquarian: fine condition.*